Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 2nd, 2010

Day 38: Mexican Lasagna

While visiting my brother, niece and sister-in-law this week, she made a great enchilada casserole for lunch one day. Well, taking inspiration from that meal, I came up with this similar recipe for dinner tonight! I’m calling it Mexican Lasagna because it’s layered like lasagna but with Mexican style ingredients. I used a round glass pan that is just slightly larger than a tortilla. I greased it with olive oil and put some salsa on the bottom of the pan. I sautéed about 1/2 cup of corn, 1/2 a large red onion and 1/2 orange bell pepper both diced, till soft. I added about a teaspoon of chopped jalapeño from a can, approximately 2/3 of a can of black beans (rinsed), and salted to taste. For the layers, I did salsa on bottom, corn tortilla, sauté mixture, more salsa, several fresh cilantro (coriander) leaves and shredded habañero cheddar cheese! I made 3 layers and cooked it in a 400 degree oven for approximately 25 minutes (until the cheese had browned on top).

It was delicious!! I will definitely be making this more often. It was such an easy casserole to put together, too. I’m already excited for leftovers tomorrow (it made about 2 perfect servings!) Side note: I may have put slightly too much jalapeño, because it was quite spicy. However, it really depends on your taste and mood!

Read Full Post »